File/Folder Sharing from SharePoint
File/Folder sharing has changed slightly so this guide will walk you through the different options for sharing.
Which option is the correct one to use? Below will describe what each one can be used for.
-
People in Activ8 Energies
This allows anyone in Activ8 who has been given the link to access the file/folder. -
Only people with existing access
This can be used for people who have existing permission to view/edit a file/folder and for example the link no longer works and this will generate a fresh link. This link will only work if the user has existing access. -
People you choose
This can be used for sharing the file/folder to an approved & registered external user. This user needs to have been brought to IT via a ticket and completed the registration which will be sent to them via email.
Sharing a file/folder within SharePoint
Once inside a SharePoint folder as shown below there are a few options to share a file/folder.
If you are looking to share a specific folder there are two ways you can do this.
One, enter the folder you can either select “Share” or “Copy Link” both have slightly different option when you first click but you will then need to click on the gear icon or “Settings”
| Copy Link | Share |
|---|---|
The second way is by clicking on the 3 dots or the share symbol highlighted below in the screenshot.
If you click on the share symbol you will need to click on the gear icon as referenced to in the two side by side images titled “Share”
If you click on the three dots you will need to click “Share” which as mentioned above you need to click on the gear icon as referenced to in the two side by side images titled “Share”
Once one of these methods has been used we are ready to share the file.
Inside the settings there is 3 options which we can choose from as shown below. “People in Activ8 Energies”, “Only people with existing access” or “People you choose”
Which option you chose will depend on he use case outlined at the very start of the article.
Depending on if you clicked “Copy Link” or “Share” and you have selected “People you choose” you will need to manually enter the external users name and they should appear on the list or click apply then enter the external users email, select the user and click apply. You will then automatically create a link for the person which you can share directly with them. NB Ensure you select the correct access required, Can View, Can Edit etc…
| Copy Link | Share |
|---|---|
If you have used “People you choose” from the “Copy Link” button then when you click apply you will automatically have a link copied to share directly with the specific user as shown below in the screenshot.
If you have chosen either “People in Activ8 Energies” or “Only people with existing access” you then you need to click apply in the bottom right corner. This will return you to either one of the two side by side screenshots depending on which method you used and you can click “Copy Link” or “Copy” and you can share this link with the user.
| Copy Link | Share |
|---|---|